Cauliflower, Eggplant (Chickpea) & Tofu Curry


This week as I shopped for groceries, I tried to think of something new I could make. Somehow the idea for a cauliflower and eggplant curry floated into my mind, and I thought I’d give it a shot. When I got home, I smelled a bunch of my spices and set aside the ones I felt worked for what I wanted, and I decided on the ratios based on the taste I had in mind. I’d picked up some tofu for miso soup earlier, and the decision to add it in was totally last minute. All-in-all, it worked out quite nicely! My parents were scrambling for seconds from the pot after I gave them some to try.

A suggestion: Try adding half a can of chickpeas in with the vegetables. They’d go great with the flavour of this dish.– I wish I’d thought of doing that earlier!

Cauliflower, Eggplant (Chickpea) & Tofu Curry

  • 1 medium-sized eggplant, cut into ~ 1 inch pieces
  • 1 cauliflower head, cut into little “trees”
  • 1/2 can chickpeas (if you like)
  • 1 large onion, chopped roughly
  • 5 tablespoons sunflower oil + 2 tablespoons
  • ~ 250 g med-firm or firm tofu
  • 3 tablespoons curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1 heaping tablespoon garam masala
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup cream (I  used a 5% that “tastes like 10%”)
  • approx. 1 teaspoon salt (or to taste)
  • 3 tablespoons cornstarch

In a large pot, heat the 5 tablespoons of oil (on medium heat). Add onions and stir.
Once onions begin to become translucent, add water, cauliflower and eggplant (and chickpeas if you choose).
Cover with lid until cauliflower softens (a few minutes).
Add the curry, coriander and garam masala and stir until everything is coated and yellow.
Cover and let steam for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.
Add cream and salt & stir well.
Turn off stove and let stand on warm burner with lid on.

To prepare the tofu:
Drain the water, use a dish cloth to gently soak up excess water from the tofu.
Heat the 2 tablespoons of oil in a small nonstick pan over medium heat.
Cut tofu into 1 inch pieces.
Place tofo onto hot pan, sprinkle liberally with cornstarch, and cook until each side has a golden colour (4-5 mins each side).
** Be gentle with the tofu because it’s delicate and will break apart if handled roughly.

Next:
Stir pot well, add tofu, stir again lightly to coat and serve!

Goes great with Naan or on a bed of rice.

2 thoughts on “Cauliflower, Eggplant (Chickpea) & Tofu Curry

  1. Very helpful information, I also like the recipe ,its my lucky day i found the right site.Cauliflower, Eggplant (Chickpea) & Tofu Curry is good i will also try more recipes. Thank you for sharing

Leave a Reply

