Morrocan Beef Salad

I found this unique recipe in the August 2010 issue of Style at Home Magazine. They do this great food feature in each issue called “Fast 5”: “Donna Hay’s fresh quickies for every night of the week”. I tried this one out and it was so yummy, festive, and totally fresh-tasting.

I couldn’t find any marinating steak so I substituted veal and grilled it through, and I didn’t end up needing all of the spices (I pre-mixed them to ensure the flavour was uniform throughout). Nevertheless, I’ll copy the recipe below since it’s so simple, and you can do with it what you wish!  (The image above is the result I had.)

***

Directions:

Rub an inside or outside round marinating steak with 2 tsp (10 mL) each ground cumin and sweet paprika, and sea salt and pepper. Drizzle with oil. Marinate for 10 minutes. Barbecue for 5 minutes on each side or until medium-rare (I say grill it to your preference). Slice and serve with a salad of feta, drained canned chickpeas, mint leaves, sliced tomato, and lemon juice.

***

Summary of Ingredients:

  • inside or outside round marinating steak (or veal, as I used)
  • 2 tsp (10mL) each ground cumin, paprika
  • sea salt and pepper (to your taste)
  • oil
  • feta
  • canned chickpeas, drained
  • mint leaves (I chopped mine)
  • sliced tomato
  • lemon juice
Leave a Reply

